61st Year


2019 - 2020


NOTE: The April 19th, 2020 Sakura Cello Quintet Concert has been cancelled to comply with Governor Newsome`s decree to limit Public Gatherings Exceeding 250 People during the ongoing COVI-19 Pandemic!

NOTE: The 2019-2020 Season Concert Location will be Wilshire Auditorium at Fullerton College

315 East Wilshire Ave, Fullerton, CA 92831

November 3rd, 2019 Syrinx Reed Quintet

Victoria Lee, oboe
Micah Wright, clarinet
Mathieu Giradet, bass clarinet
Patrick Olmos, saxophone
Jeffrey Wasik, bassoon

The Syrinx Reed Quintet is bringing a new voice to the Southern California chamber music scene. Founded in 2018, the quintet boasts a versatile and colorful combination of avid teaching artists with backgrounds from all across the nation. Experienced in a wide variety of styles, the ensemble offers bold and innovative repertoire with performances of unstoppable spirit. Syrinx Quintet effectively communicates all music - from the Renaissance to contemporary and popular genres. Built and driven by its homogenous instrumentation, Syrinx Quintet is proud to inspire new perspectives and collaborations in sound.

FRANCAIX arr. HOMANPetit Quatuor
GERSHWIN arr. REYNOLDSThree Preludes
IVES arr. REYNOLDSVariations on America
TON TER DOESTCircusmuziek

Syrinx Reed Quintet Website

January 12th, 2020 Dali String Quartet

Domenic Salerni, violin
Carlos Rubio, violin
Adriana Linares, viola
Jesus Morales, cello

The Dali Quartet brings its signature mix of Latin American, Classical and Romantic repertoire to stages and audiences of all kinds. The quartet's passionate energy is poured into everything they do, generating critical and audience acclaim for their Classical Roots, Latin Soul. Its tours include appearances for distinguished chamber music and cultural center series in the U.S., Canada, and South America.

VILLA-LOBOSString Quartet No. 5 (1931)
SCHUBERTString Quartet No. 10 in E-flat Major (D. 87)
MENDELSSOHNString Quartet No. 6 in F minor, Op. 80

Dali Quartet Website

February 2nd, 2020 Thalea String Quartet with Michelle Cann, piano

Christopher Whitley, violin
Kumiko Sakamoto, violin
Luis Bellorin, viola
Titilayo Ayangade, cello
Michelle Cann, piano

Formed in 2014 at the Zephyr International Chamber Music Festival in Courmayeur, Italy, the Thalea String Quartet has been praised for their "vibrant performance" and "sincere expressivity".

The quartet has has appeared at the Kennedy Center, Massey Hall, and Weill Hall and were the first quartet-in-residence at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music.

Florence Price was disadvantaged as a classical composer in being both African American and a woman but her music is now being rediscovered.

BEETHOVENString Quartet No. 1 in F major, Op. 18, No. 1
AKSHAYA AVRIL TUCKERNew Comission (2019)
PIAZZOLLAFour for Tango
COPLANDMovement for String Quartet
FLORENCE PRICE3 Folksongs in Counterpoint
Piano Concerto (Transcribed for Piano Quintet)

Thalea String Quartet Website

Website for Michelle Cann

March 1st, 2020 Duo Turgeon

Anne Louise-Turgeon, piano
Edward Turgeon, piano

Born in Montreal and Toronto respectively, Canadian pianists Anne Louise-Turgeon and Edward Turgeon have been playing together since 1988, and performing professionally since 1996. Critically acclaimed as one of the top piano duos of our time, the Turgeons have given hundreds of performances, including a European debut at the Concertgebouw of Amsterdam, and a New York debut at Weill Recital Hall, to name a few.

The Turgeons are graduates of the University of Toronto and Yale University, where they earned doctorate degrees in the year 2000. They received the highest graduating awards and prizes from both institutions.

RAVELRapsodie EspagnolePlay Audio of Work
Valsa de Esquina No. 2
SAINT-SAENSVariations on a Theme by Beethoven, Op. 35
MILHAUDBraziliera from Suite Scaramouche
- 1) March
- 2) Little Clock
- 3) At the Coachman`s Corner
- 4) Having a Dream
- 5) Troika
RACHMANINOVSuite No. 1, Op.5
Suite No. 2, Op. 17
DVORAKSlavonic Dances, Op. 46 No .8 in G Minor (Encore)

Duo Turgeon Website

April 19th, 2020 (CANCELLED!) Sakura Cello Quintet

Michael Kaufman
Benjamin Lash
Stella Cho
Yoshika Masuda
Peter Myers

A unique and versatile cello quintet, hailed as "brilliant" and "superb" by Mark Swed in the Los Angeles Times, the SAKURA Cello Quintet is built on the artistry and virtuosity of its members. Drawing from the rich heritage of a repertoire that spans eight centuries, inventive programs are constructed around conceptual threads, with a commitment to opening new vistas of beauty and expression. In the tradition of the great chamber ensembles, the quintet distills its interpretations through time, reveling in the pure sonic pleasure of a unified and colorful sound.

DEBUSSY The Girl with the Flaxen Hair (arr. Myers)
FAURECinq melodies "de Venise" Op. 58 (arr. Myers)
BEETHOVENSymphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67
I. Allegro con brio (arr. Kaufman)
BRITTENFour Sea Interludes (arr. Myers)
DONALD CROCKETNew Work (commissioned by New Music USA)

SAKURA Cello Quintet Website


Last Revised: March 13, 2020